According to data from the UNESCO Institute of Statistic, less than 30% of the world’s researchers are women and although nearly half of the science undergraduates are female, fewer than 4% of women scientists reach leading positions in research facilities. The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) which was founded in 1983 to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in developing countries are inviting nominees from least developed countries (LDCs) of the world for the TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award.

The concept of a sustainable society has been around for decades. The term sustainability is defined as “one that can satisfy its needs without diminishing the chance of future generations”. 

However, over the years this concept has evolved to encompass a broad range of social and environmental issues. You can check out WASCAL Master Scholarships 2021 for Students from ECOWAS Countries

Many activists picture a sustainable society as a Venn diagram of three overlapping concerns: Environment, Social, Economic.

In a sustainable world, each dimension works in harmony with the other.

Today’s citizens are given every opportunity to grow and thrive; tomorrow’s resources are preserved and protected.

The 17 Sustainable Development Goals released by the UN in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda. This underlies that we must become aware of the fact that we are compromising the future of generations to come.

The SDGs may well represent the best attempt at addressing sustainability issues on a global scale.

The TWAS-Samira Omar innovation for sustainability award 2021 is for female scientists from the least developed countries around the globe.

The application for the 2021 Award program is ongoing and we call on all the eligible students to apply. It grants the winner a cash award of USD4,000. This is generously provided by Professor Omar who is a fellow of the academy. Check also these other related posts;

NYS Grants Gateway: Requirement for Student Financial Aids

5 Operating Grants for Non-Governmental Organization in the USA |How to Apply

FATE Foundation Scale-Up Lab Agribusiness Accelerator Programme 2021

ELIGIBILITY FOR TWAS-Samira Omar innovation:

The 2021 award will be awarded to a woman scientist national of a Least Developing Country (LDC), living and working in an LDC during the last two years. Immediately before their nomination, based on scientific achievements in any of the thematic areas below:

– Clean and renewable energy

 – Green chemistry

 – Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity

 – Plastic: degradation, pollution and microplastics

 – Water purification and sanitation

 – Climate change: environmental effects, methane contribution, carbon capture

 – Transportation technologies: efficiency for smart cities

 – Waste management

 – Biodiversity: the sixth mass extinction, ecosystem services, habitat recovery and restoration

 – Ecological economics and planetary health

Self-nominations and nominations from jury members will not be considered.

Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.

The same nominee cannot be nominated for more than one ‘Fellows of TWAS Awards’ in a given year.

The secretariat retains the right to bring to the attention of the nominators that the nomination may be suitable for another award. The final decision whether or not to shift the nomination will be taken by the nominators themselves.


Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Yemen, Zambia.


A nomination is considered complete only if includes all of the following information/material:

  • Nominator contact details,
  • Nominee contact details (self-nominations are not accepted) and general information on the nominee,
  • Authorization from the nominee (i.e. the candidate) to process her data for her nomination, in conformity to Art. 13 of the Italian Legislative Decree 196/2003. This authorization can only be submitted through the online platform. The privacy authorization form is available for download in the section ‘nominee’s data. The form must be filled in and signed by the candidate and then uploaded onto the on-line platform,
  • Suggested citation (15-20 words highlighting the nominee’s scientific achievements),
  • Supporting statement regarding the nominee’s contribution. Supporting statements should explain in detail the work performed by the candidate and its significance in the relevant scientific context. Clear reference should be made to the scientific impact of the nominee’s work. Vague supporting statements will not be considered and will negatively affect the evaluation. For more information on how to nominate a scientist for the award kindly visit


The deadline for receiving nominations is 12 May 2021, however, we strongly recommend that you do not wait until the deadline but submit the nomination as early as possible to commence prompt procession.

Once you have finished running an application for the award, it is paramount to CHECK IF ENTERED DATA ARE VALID by adhering to these directions:

1) While filling in the form, pay attention to the requirements for each field (e.g. the maximum number of characters, file type, date format, etc.)

2) Run a check using the button of the form menu to verify that mandatory fields have been filled in and the data you entered are accepted. This also saves your form.

Every time you run a check; you are taken to the last section of the form named “Submit”. Use the form menu to navigate to the previous sections.

 After you run a check, fields with NOT ACCEPTED OR MISSING DATA will be highlighted in RED.

To commence a new nomination for the TWAS award, click on this link

To continue working on a saved nomination(s), click on this link

For tips or tutorials on how to apply for the TWAS award, click on this link

Scroll to Top